Transition Newcastle and social media

One of the challenges with all the choices around for social media is where to focus our efforts. Transition Newcastle has a webpage, a facebook page, a twitter account, a YouTube channel, and now a blog.

Each of these serves a different purpose:

  1. The webpage provides details about our projects, has a calendar of events and is the main source of information
  2. Our facebook page (which has 272 likes) is a quick way to share links, promote events or projects, encourages people to share info about us, and is an easy gateway.
  3. Twitter (which only has 31 followers) is fairly new and is another way to promote events
  4. The YouTube channel is a new venture (with only 5 subscribers) which will allow us to post videos of the Transition Streets Challenge and other events.
  5. The blog (which has its first very interesting post) will allow us to provide more detail about how the streets involved in the Transition Streets Challenge are going and provide a bit more or a narrative. We hope some one in each of the streets will volunteer to do some blogging on a fairly regular basis.

I also use my blog to explore the community engagement aspects of our work.

I must admit, it does take quite a bit of time keeping it all up to date. There are quite a few people who have volunteered to help with various tasks associated with all these social media. It does mean that we have to be willing to surrender control. No one is really responsible for coordinating it all (I probably come to the closest to doing it) and so it is pretty organic.

I could imagine that at times things will go up which aren’t really how we want to portray ourselves, but I think in the long run, it is well worth it. Organisations like Transition Newcastle have to rely on volunteers and to do that we have to trust people’s motivations and skills.

So far this approach has worked well.

About Graeme Stuart

Lecturer (Family Action Centre, Newcastle Uni), blogger (Sustaining Community), environmentalist, Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, father. Passionate about families, community development, peace & sustainability.
This entry was posted in Environmental sustainability, Working with communities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Transition Newcastle and social media

  1. Graeme,
    I can totally relate to your situation as I currently maintain a range of digital and social media profiles for the Islington Village Community Group.

    Something I’ve found really useful in terms of getting good mileage from the time you spend updating content is using apps to share content automatically between various profiles. For example I use the Twitter app in Facebook so that every post I put up on the Islington Village FB page also appears as a tweet on the IslingtonNSW Twitter account and in turn on the Twitter feed on the Islington Village WordPress site.

    This is great for me as it keeps the various audiences on each platform up to date with the latest news and means I can focus my efforts on keeping the FB page updated and the occasional blog post on the website.

    Keep up the good work!

    Phoebe Trongchittham

    Like

    • Graeme says:

      Thanks Phoebe
      Good idea – I do make use of some of those features but I’m sure there are many I don’t.
      Have you tried HootSuite? I believe that can be quite helpful too, but I haven’t tried it yet.
      Regards
      Graeme

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

