Should I change the name of my blog?

Phone

Internet1” by Rock1997Own work. Licensed under GFDL via Wikimedia Commons.

When I started this blog in 2010, my focus was on community engagement and environmental sustainability. To capture this focus I named the blog “Sustaining Community Engagement” but the web address was simply “sustainingcommunity.wordpress.com”.

Late last year I decided to focus more on families and parenting (particularly in relation to how they try to be environmentally friendly) while also continuing to discuss community engagement and  sustainability. At the time I decided to simply go with the name Sustaining Community which meant I only needed to change the name of the blog and not the address.

I’m now wondering if I should look for a new name, but then the web address would be different to the blog name or I would have to change the address (and I’m not sure what that would mean for existing links, search engines etc.)

I’d love to hear what you think. Should I explore how I can change its name? Is it worth the hassle? If I was to change it, do you have any suggestions for what to call it? Does it really matter?

I know I touched on this in the last post, but it would be great to get a bit more feedback.

If you liked this post you might want to follow my blog (top right-hand corner of the blog), and you might like to look at:

  1. Why I blog and some goals for 2015
  2. Focusing more on families
  3. Online community engagement – from tools to strategy
  4. Blogging as an academic
  5. A great 1 minute video of fathers and their kids

About Graeme Stuart

Lecturer (Family Action Centre, Newcastle Uni), blogger (Sustaining Community), environmentalist, Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, father. Passionate about families, community development, peace & sustainability.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Should I change the name of my blog?

  1. Susan says:

    Graeme,
    Please keep the name. I too work on sustainable communities – and with the primary focus for supporting parents and families. I view community as support, learning, resources for living and thriving; community defined many ways and lived in a variety of environments (including the virtual). Key to them all is in the power unique to the collective and different than what is held by the individual. Your blog name relates to the many ways that community serves parents and families. That the ideal is to sustain community sends a clear message of continuity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bec Millers says:

    I found your blog when doing a search for information on empowering communities (I think)!
    I have no idea how difficult it would be if you were to change the name but I like the current name.
    I think it encapsulates the spirit of the blog and the philosophies that it talks about. Although you have said that you changed focus to more about parenting and being environmental, isn’t that all part of sustaining communities!?! Just my two cents. Keep up the amazing work.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I guess it depends on how many followers and likes you have. If people come in they are looking for the name they know. Re search engines you can do a lot by choosing the right tags. Check out the list of the most popular tags before you tag your post and maybe there are a few you can use for them. I think if you are happy with the name and it states what your blog is about, then you should stick to it. But that is just me ;-)

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

