Blogging – not just a popularity contest

Blog

(Photo: xioubin low)

As part of Blogging 101 I’ve looked back over my posts, and thought about my audience and which posts are my favourite. There is no doubt which has been my most popular post. What is the Strengths Perspective? (published May 2012) with 41,027 views. It’s a long way in front of the next most popular ones: my home page/archives with 13,464 views, What is asset-based community-driven development (ABCD)? (published August 2013) with 8049 views and Making parents feel welcome in schools (published April 2013) with 4194.

Some of the posts where I write about things I’m passionate about haven’t done nearly as well. Parenting for a better world (June 2012) has had 264 views and Is our love affair with fossil fuels an abusive relationship? (February 2015) has only had 28 views.

More personal ones don’t do as well either. Some of the more popular ones do OK. What is Kids’ Vegies on the Verge? (August 2013) is up to 664 views, Why I support Oxfam (December 2013) has 311 views and Being a father (August 2014) has 180 views.

It’s hard to decide which are my favourite posts, but many of them aren’t that popular either. Some have done quite well like 10 ways to reduce your consumption (August 2013) with 1570 views but others like Hmm, that’s an evil plan! (January 2012) has only had 90 views.

Because I blog as an academic, I do want to get plenty of views, but it’s not just a numbers game. I blog for a range of audiences and a range of reasons and so it is important not to get caught up in a popularity game.

If you liked this post you might want to follow my blog (top right-hand corner of the blog), and you might like to look at:

  1. Blogging as an academic
  2. Why I blog
  3. When is it OK for kids to walk home alone?
  4. Sustaining Community Facebook page
  5. Resources for students

About Graeme Stuart

Lecturer (Family Action Centre, Newcastle Uni), blogger (Sustaining Community), environmentalist, Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, father. Passionate about families, community development, peace & sustainability.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging – not just a popularity contest

  1. thirionfourie says:

    Wow! If you consider only 90 views as not good, I have a long way to go. I will jump over the moon if I get any views at all. Okay, I just started and I don’t post regularly. Any advice how to get views apart from spending hours commenting on other’s blogs?

    Like

    • I’ve been blogging over 4 years now. The first year I average 14 views a day and the next year I got up to 23 views a day! So it has taken a while.
      I don’t actually spend much time on other blogs. I think the advice that it is about having regular, relevant content has been the key for me. Because of the nature of my blog, most of my views come from google (etc) searches so as my blog got more views I’ve slowly gone up the search rankings. I also get quite a few from LinkedIn.
      I really had to hang in there and keep going when I really didn’t get many views.
      Good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

