A song for Sunday – One

I admit it, I’m a Metallica fan. “One” is a  powerful song with an anti-war theme. The video for the song uses clips from the 1971 movie Johnny got his gun. It’s about a soldier being trapped in his body after being hit by an artillery shell in WW1.

Landmine
Has taken my sight
Taken my speech
Taken my hearing
Taken my arms
Taken my legs
Taken my soul
Left me with life in hell

There are some great quotes in the clips from the film. When the soldier was a boy he asked his father:

Son: What is democracy?…
Father: It’s got something to do with young men killing each other I believe…
Son: When it comes my turn, will you want me to go?
Father: For democracy, any man would give his only begotten son.

When the soldier communicates via Morse code, there’s this great exchange between a general and a padre.

General: Don’t you have some message for him padre?
Padre: He’s a product of your profession, not mine.

If you liked this post please follow my blog (top right-hand corner of the blog), and you might like to look at:

  1. Past Songs for Sunday
  2. What is terrorism?
  3. Principles of nonviolence
  4. White Ribbon Day

About Graeme Stuart

Lecturer (Family Action Centre, Newcastle Uni), blogger (Sustaining Community), environmentalist, Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, father. Passionate about families, community development, peace & sustainability.
Video | This entry was posted in Song for Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you think!

