A song for Sunday – 99 Red Balloons

I’ve decided to keep the peace songs coming for a little longer. I started working with communities through the peace movement, so I’m enjoying revisiting some songs from my past.

This one, 99 Red Balloons by Nena, always reminds me of a huge nuclear disarmament rally in Melbourne in 1984.

99 Decision Street, 99 ministers meet
To worry, worry, super-scurry
Call out the troops now in a hurry
This is what we’ve waited for
This is it boys, this is war
The president is on the line
As 99 red balloons go by.

What are your favourite songs about peace?

If you liked this post please follow my blog (top right-hand corner of the blog), and you might like to watch some previous songs for Sunday:

  1. John Lennon’s Image by Playing for Change
  2. The Band Played Waltzing Matilda by Eric Bogle
  3. One by Metallica
  4. Nuclear by Mike Oldfield
  5. Foolish Notion by Holly Near
  6. Dust in the Wind by Kansas

About Graeme Stuart

Lecturer (Family Action Centre, Newcastle Uni), blogger (Sustaining Community), environmentalist, Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, father. Passionate about families, community development, peace & sustainability.
This entry was posted in Working with communities. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A song for Sunday – 99 Red Balloons

  1. Julie Davies says:

    Good grief! I’d never listened to the words before. Didn’t even realise it was an anti-war song. My only excuse is I was losing my organic vineyard in a seven-year drought at that time. Must have had other things on my mind. Thanks Graeme.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

