Song for Sunday – Another Day in Paradise by Phil Collins

She calls out to the man on the street
‘Sir, can you help me?
It’s cold and I’ve nowhere to sleep,
Is there somewhere you can tell me?’

He walks on, doesn’t look back
He pretends he can’t hear her
Starts to whistle as he crosses the street
Seems embarrassed to be there

Another Day in Paradise by Phil Collins addresses the way in which homeless people are often treated by the rest of society. Written in 1989, Collins said that  he wrote the song “after being in Washington DC where I was amazed by how many people I saw living in boxes.” He recognised in himself the tendency to ignore homeless people. He recalls leaving the studio while recording the song and seeing a homeless woman with two children who were begging for money.

When it happened to me, I just walked straight past. I thought, I’m doing the same thing as everybody else… I felt awkward. I didn’t ignore her but at the same time I didn’t stop and give her some money… That’s what the song deals with, people just sort of starting to pretend it’s not happening. (Song facts)

I chose the song as it had a lose connection with the theme of engaging ‘hard to reach’ families which has been in this week’s Some weekend reading and Saturday quote.

It’s also interesting to note that David Crosby (who was featured in last week’s Song for Sunday – Teach Your Children) also sang on this track.

If you liked this post please follow my blog (top right-hand corner of the blog), and you might like to watch some previous songs for Sunday:

  1. “Teach your children” by Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young,
  2. Luka” by Suzanne Vega
  3. “Treaty” by Yothu Yindi
  4. “Same love” by Macklemore and Ryan Lews (in support of marriage equality)
  5. John Lennon’s “Image” by Playing for Change
  6. Complete list of songs

About Graeme Stuart

Lecturer (Family Action Centre, Newcastle Uni), blogger (Sustaining Community), environmentalist, Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, father. Passionate about families, community development, peace & sustainability.
This entry was posted in Song for Sunday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Song for Sunday – Another Day in Paradise by Phil Collins

  1. Rachel Raj says:

    I find this idea quite interesting, where you link songs to relevant social issues, btw this is one omy fav songs as well.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

