Saturday quote (and why it will be the last regular one)

It's better to light one candleAbout 5 months ago I decided to share a quote each Saturday and a song each Sunday. I had recently completed Blogging 201 (a course through WordPress) and wanted to trial some regular posts and increase my weekend views. These posts were on top of a regular Friday post (Some weekend reading) in which I shared some articles, blog posts or videos that had caught my eye.

It’s surprising how long these posts take and I’ve decided to reassess them. The time I have for the blog could probably be used more effectively.

Originally with the weekend reading I looked for a couple of articles about families, a couple about working with communities and a couple about environmental sustainability. Now I normally have a focus on a single topic (e.g., engaging ‘hard to reach’ families, NAIDOC week or domestic violence). I find these posts quite useful as a way to encourage me to look for useful articles and it is a way of highlighting articles I want to return to.  While it can take quite a bit of time, it’s valuable research and hopefully others find it useful as well.

For the Saturday quote, I have been adding the quote to a relevant image and so I have to find a quote, find a good image, and then combine them. I’ve decided to stop doing it on a regular basis as I don’t get much value from preparing them and I doubt it is very useful to others.  The Saturday quote might still make an occasional  comeback if I find a particularly good one.

The song for Sunday also isn’t all that useful and receives the least views of these regular posts so it would make sense to stop doing it as well. But I actually enjoy looking for a song that has some relevance to recent posts or recent events, or finding a song that I particularly like; so I’ll probably keep it going. I’m not going to worry too much if I miss it sometimes, but I’ll keep it going as a bit of a hobby. I’m actually in my current line of work because I wasn’t a good enough musician to make it a career.

In short, you will still find the weekend reading and the song for Sunday, but not Saturday quote. My last Saturday quote is one of my favourite sayings.

If you liked this post please follow my blog (top right-hand corner of the blog), and you might like to look at:

  1. Past Saturday Quote
  2. Why I blog
  3. Blogging as an academic
  4. Focusing more on families

About Graeme Stuart

Lecturer (Family Action Centre, Newcastle Uni), blogger (Sustaining Community), environmentalist, Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, father. Passionate about families, community development, peace & sustainability.
This entry was posted in Saturday quote and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you think!

