Special days and dates for the environment – 2020

Trees burning in a bushfire
Australia started 2020 with terrible bushfires. While this image is from 2013, it is a reminder of how climate change is making environmental disasters more frequent and more intense. (Photo: bertknot)

Here are some significant international and Australian national days/weeks for 2020 that focus on environmental issues.  I’ve also created a list of days and dates focusing on families and communities. Please let me know if I have missed any important ones. (Days marked with * are mainly for Australia.)

Please note that some of the websites are not updated for 2020 yet.

February  

World Wetlands Day — Sunday, 2 February 2020

Business Clean Up Day — Tuesday, 25 February 2020 *

International Polar Bear Day — Thursday, 27 February 2020

Schools Clean Up Day — Friday, 28 February 2020 *

March

Clean Up Australia Day  — Sunday, 1 March 2020 *

Ride2School Day — Friday, 13 March 2020 *

World Water Day — Sunday, 22 March 2020

Earth Hour — Saturday, 28 March 2020

April  

World Earth Day — Wednesday, 22 April 2020

May  

International Permaculture Day — Sunday, 3 May 2020

International Composting Awareness Week — 3-9 May 2020

World Migratory Bird Day — Saturday, 9 May 2020

International Day for Biological Diversity — Friday, 22 May 2020

June  

World Environment Day — Friday, 5 June 2020

World Oceans Day — Monday, 8 June 2020

World Day to Combat Desertification and Drought — Wednesday, 17 June 2020

World Rainforest Day — Monday, 22 June 2020

July

Global Overshot Day — To be calculated – in 2019 it was July 29

World Population Day — Saturday, 11 July 2020

Schools Tree Day — Friday, 31 July 2020 *

August

National Tree Day — Sunday, 2 August 2020 *

September

National Biodiversity Month — Tuesday, 1 September 2020 *

National Threatened Species Day  — Monday, 7 September 2020 *

Bushcare’s Major Day Out — Sunday, 13 September 2020 *

International Day for the Preservation of the Ozone Layer — Wednesday, 16 September 2020

Sustainable House Day — Sunday, 20 September 2020*

Zero Emissions Day — Monday, 21 September 2020

World Rivers Day — Sunday, 27 September 2020

October

World Animal Day — Sunday, 4 October 2020

World Migratory Bird Day — Saturday, 10 October 2020

World Food Day — Friday, 16 October 2020

National Bird Week — 19-25 October 2020 *

National Ride 2 Work Day — Wednesday, 21 October 2020 *

November

National Recycling Week — 9-15 November 2020 *

Buy Nothing Day — Saturday, 28 November 2020

December

World Soil Day — Saturday, 5 December 2020

International Mountain Day — Friday, 11 December 2020

* Mainly for Australia

If you liked this post please follow my blog, and you might like to look at:

  1. Special days and dates for families and communities – 2020
  2. Dear Mister Prime Minister: Are you listening?
  3. We need to rethink fast fashion
  4. 9 things we can do to challenge fast fashion
  5. The story of microfibres
  6. 10 ways to reduce your consumption

If you find any problems with the blog, (e.g., broken links or typos) I’d love to hear about them. You can either add a comment below or contact me via the Contact page.

About Graeme Stuart

Lecturer (Family Action Centre, Newcastle Uni), blogger (Sustaining Community), Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, environmentalist, father. Passionate about families, community development, peace, sustainability.
This entry was posted in Environmental sustainability and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.