A song for Sunday – Dust in the Wind

I really wanted to be a musician, but after giving it a go it was clear this was not where my strengths lay! But it remains one of my main passions.

So even though it doesn’t have anything to do with the main themes of the blog, I’ve decided to post a video of a song I enjoy each Sunday. It’s my blog; I can do what I want!

I’m starting with Dust in the Wind by Kansas. It came out in 1978 when I was working in a record shop and I’ve loved it ever since. While the video hasn’t really stood the test of time, the music has!

If you liked this post you might want to follow my blog (top right-hand corner of the blog), and you might like to look at:

  • Someone else’s blog – there isn’t anything like it on my blog yet! You could try John Eccles (Musings of a Grumpy Northern Bloke) who posts a song from a movie each week and was the inspiration for this series.

About Graeme Stuart

Lecturer (Family Action Centre, Newcastle Uni), blogger (Sustaining Community), environmentalist, Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, father. Passionate about families, community development, peace & sustainability.
Video | This entry was posted in Song for Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A song for Sunday – Dust in the Wind

  1. Julie Davies says:

    So glad I stumbled across your blog on ANZAC Day, not just for that considered commentary on that topic, which I also blogged about,, but also to see (for the first time) an old favourite song “Dust in the Wind”. I used this song title as the name for my second novel. What a delight to actually see the song played.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A beautiful, haunting song that I have loved for many years. I have an ovation guitar just like the one the guy on the left is playing – it has a great sound. And how long will it be before the hairstyles and clothing on this video are back in style?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful song….and their hairstyles are amazing!! I was waiting for the violinists hair to get caught in his bow :)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes Graeme, and so with our planet earth, a dust in the universe.
    Happy Sunday to you and to your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. John Eccles says:

    Thanks for the mention Graeme. You never know some director could use it in a movie and all of a sudden it will have a new lease of life. Great track.

    Like

    • It actually has been used in a couple of movies (neither of which I’ve seen) – Old School (2003) where it was sung by WIll Ferrell’s character and the horror movie Final Destination 5 (2011). I doubt either soundtrack was a big seller. More people probably heard it when it appeared in episodes of The Simpsons and Family Guy!

      Like

      • John Eccles says:

        It is always the context in which its used that make them great, I think it’s the tone of the scene matched to the music that reinforces the emotion being portrayed. It’s getting harder and harder to find great scenes and tracks.

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think!

