Song for Sunday – Luka by Suzanne Vega

Released in 1987, Luka by Suzanne Vega is about family violence and child abuse. (It’s worth watching the video.)

Yes I think I’m okay
I walked into the door again
Well, if you ask that’s what I’ll say
And it’s not your business anyway
I guess I’d like to be alone
With nothing broken, nothing thrown

I chose this song to continue with the theme of family violence for Some weekend reading (which included a range of articles or posts that have caught my eye on family and domestic violence) and Saturday quote (which was by Rosie Batty about family violence).

I didn’t realise that in 2014 Vega released a follow up song “Song of the Stoic” which was written from the point of view of Luka as he looked back on life.

If you liked this post please follow my blog (top right-hand corner of the blog), and you might like to watch some previous songs for Sunday:

  1. “Treaty” by Yothu Yindi
  2. Take me to church by Hozier
  3. I will survive by Gloria Gaynor (Priscilla Queen of the Desert version)
  4. Child in Time by Deep Purple (and a version by Blackmore’s Night)
  5. John Lennon’s Image by Playing for Change
  6. Foolish Notion by Holly Near

About Graeme Stuart

Alternatives to Violence Project facilitator, honourary lecturer (University of Newcastle), environmentalist, father (of adult children). Passionate about peace, nonviolence, sustainability, strengths-based practice and community development.
This entry was posted in Song for Sunday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Song for Sunday – Luka by Suzanne Vega

  1. Pingback: Totally Radical Girls and the Bitchin’ Burden of Civilization | Bitch Flicks

  2. Julie Davies says:

    I’m so glad I followed your blog, not just because the written posts are interesting, but your songs for Sunday have opened my eyes up so many times to the meaning of songs that were part of my youth. I liked them, but I must never really have listened to the words, because they turn out to be so much more meaningful and important than I had realised. Thank you Graeme.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.